Yorkshire West Riding Northern Division antique map 1885

£45.00 £40.00

Antique map of Northern Division of the West Riding of Yorkshire, showing Elland, Keithley, Skipton, Sowerby. Published 1888 in the Report of the Boundary Commissioners for England and Wales. Size of engraved area approx 13.5x19ins. Usual fold. See scan for evidence of foxing (discounted as a result.) Separate text will be provided where available.

In stock


Yorkshire West Riding antique map 1885. Antique map of the Northern Division of the West Riding of Yorkshire including: Ewecross, Sedbergh, Ribbledale, Lonsdale, Kettlewell, Staincliffe, Skipton, Bowland, Gisburn, Addingham, Keighly Shipley, Bradford, Halifax, Sowerby, Haworth Moor. Published in the Report of the Boundary Commissioners for England and Wales 1885. Zincographed map of Derbyshire produced by R. Owen Jones, Royal Engineers. Printed by Eyre and Spottiswoode, London.

The Boundary Commissions in the United Kingdom are non-departmental public bodies responsible for determining the boundaries of constituencies for elections to the House of Commons,

The Redistribution of Seats Act 1885 (48 & 49 Vict., c. 23) was an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It was a piece of electoral reform legislation that redistributed the seats in the House of Commons, introducing the concept of equally populated constituencies, a concept in the broader global context termed equal apportionment, in an attempt to equalise representation across the UK. It was associated with, but not part of, the Reform Act 1884 .

Zincography was a planographic printing process that used zinc plates. Alois Senefelder first mentioned zinc’s lithographic use as a substitute for Bavarian limestone in his 1801 English patent specifications. In 1834, Federico Lacelli patented a zincographic printing process, producing large maps called géoramas. In 1837-1842, Eugène-Florent Kaeppelin perfected the process to create a large polychrome geologic map.


Product Categories